For the love of the game….

I guess it does not come as a surprise that when I heard that the Long Teng Cup will be held here in the Philippines that I was beyond excited.

There were a lot of rumors going around that the games will be held in Bacolod for RMS will be undergoing renovations and the games will be early October.

Well the super excited me, decided to book a flight to Bacolod last June 19 for October 3 to 9.

Then an announcement came out that the games will be moved from October to September 25, 27 and 29. The venue was still in Bacolod. Panic stricken, I was not sure if this was true then the official statement came out that the dates were moved to make way for the games of Loyola Sparks against Singapore. After a few sleepless nights of thinking whether to cancel my flight or to just rebook it, I decided to rebook my flight from October 3 to September 25.

I was getting excited again for I will be able to watch the games again. I was even looking for affordable accommodations in Bacolod and even Benson, our DSC in Bacolod, was offering to look for possible hotels.

The day came that an official statement from PFF that the games will be moved to RMS here in Manila. I was pissed hahaha I must admit I was pissed. I felt that I was being led around and that I was wasting money and time because of the changes. I was so pissed off that I didn’t want to watch the games anymore. I went online and cancelled my flight. I was quite adamant that I will not watch the games anymore.

But after watching the game of the Azkals against Chicago Inferno, I was made to think “Do I really want to miss this chance to watch the Azkals play for the Peace Cup? Do I really want to let this chance go?” The answer became very clear to me that the answer was NO.

So here I am today, waiting in anticipation for the games on Sept. 25, 27 and 29.

What are the things that I am looking forward to?

1. To see Aly Borromeo back in the pitch. I was not able to watch the Kaya game wherein he played and I’m really excited to see him in action.

2. For Ian Araneta and Chieffy Caligdong to score a goal. I was able to watch a few live games but I haven’t experienced the rush of seeing these 2 great players score a goal.

3. For the Azkals to be able to redeem themselves after the game against Laos. That game was not our finest moment, not because we didn’t win its because it was marred with violence.

To all the Azkals fans who will be watching the games on Sept. 25, 27 and 29 see you there! Let us fill up RMS and show the world that football is here to stay in the Philippines!

 

 

Leave a Reply

