Peace Cup Day 1: We won!

The day finally came for the Peace Cup. I have spent money (quite a lot actually haha) and sleepless nights for the Peace Cup.

The Peace Cup was surrounded with a lot of concerns changes in the dates, the venues and some of the players not being included in the roster. But amidst all the chaos we were able to push through with the Peace Cup.

Khen and I planned to be in RMS by 4 pm but Khen ran into some problems with one of her personnel. I was able to pick her up about 4:30 and we arrived at RMS around 5:15 pm. I was surprised when I was about to take a left turn going to M. Adriatico the street was closed! Since I was not quite familiar with the streets in Manila I was forced to park along the island infront of the gate for the bleachers seat but I decided to try my luck to park inside the RMS compound because I was worried something might happen to the car. Even Khen was skeptic if the car will be safe outside. After bribing (yes I had to result to bribing) the security guard of RMS, I was allowed to park inside.

Before the kick off, we saw TJ Manotoc, Bob Guerrero and Aly Borromeo doing their opening at the middle of the stands. I took a grainy picture of Aly’s back. hahaha yes I am an Aly Borromeo fan.

While waiting for the game to start Khen and I decided to take some picture and I discovered that for Khen not to take blurry pictures the camera she is using should be Canon hahaha.

The game started and I was happy that Ian Araneta, Chieffy Caligdong and Anto Gonzales were part of the starting XI.

One thing I love when watching a game live is that you see the footworks of the players. For people like me who cannot even walk without tripping, I am at awe on what football players can do with their feet. Jeffrey Christaens footwork was amazing!

Another revelation for me was Ed Sacapano. We are used to seeing Neil or Roland being the goalkeeper but Ed was able to prove that he can also hold his own but keeping a clean sheet.

Though I’m saddened that Aly was not playing, seeing Lexton Moy back in the pitch made me happy. He is fast and is not afraid to go after the ball.

The Philippines had a lot of shot at goal, from Marwin Angeles, Denis Wolf, Chieffy, Ian and Patrick Reichelt. I can still see the same problems that I have noticed before our offense is often left alone. We can see Denis Wolf or Ian Araneta bringing the ball down but no one is there to catch their passes. I remember seeing Jason De Jong stomping his foot with frustration after another one of our shots for goal went wide.

Good thing Patrick was able to sink in a goal at the 81st minute and RMS was filled with cheers. Khen and I were very happy because this was the first time we watched a game wherein we won! hahaha we won!

But the night became even more great when I was able to take a picture with Aly! Guys can you hear me? I was able to have my picture taken with Aly Borromeo!!!!

At first I was hesitant to approach him for I was shy. Khen kept on pushing me telling me that this moment might not happen again…..so I gathered all my courage…..took a deep breath and approached him. I was so happy when he said yes!

My hands were shaking after the picture was taken that I was unable to tweet and post the picture immediately hahaha I had to calm my nerves….I had a fangirl moment hehe

But wait! There’s more! He replied to my tweet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *gasps*

In any case Aly is reading this blog I just want to thank you again :)))))

Side Note: The RMS pitch looked very good and I commend PFF for that but I hope that you will be able to provide safe parking for people who are watching the games.

Leave a Reply

